Super Bulky Button hat from Kaleidoscope Yarns (www.kyarns.com)

My weekend felt like it began early, since I was out of the office on Friday to attend an all-day conference.  Decided to bring some yarn with me to make some hats – just in case.  Wasn’t sure I’d be brave enough to knit during the presentations, but it turned out to be a really good idea.  I’ve not been feeling great for weeks (and weeks) now, and sitting still for long periods of time leads to painful grogginess.   Keeping my hands busy helped keep my attention focused on the program and I wasn’t fighting fatigue.  I also finished one and a half blue hats (stopped only because I was almost out of  yarn).  Next time I’ll bring a project that uses finer yarn – that super bulky stuff takes up a lot of room  in a bag.

GF tacos ... mmm

Saturday involved another drive into the big city, but included what will now be a ritual – brunch at Taco Deli.   Oh my, the black bean, bacon, and avocado taco is heavenly.  And the spicy green salsa is hot enough to bring tears to my eyes  — and for a few blessed minutes I can breathe out of my nose.  (Yes, I’m sure most of you take this for granted, but after 8+ years I simply take what relief I can get.)

After the obligatory grown-up errands, I dropped by JoAnn Fabrics  & Crafts to find some embellishments for the hats (all are headed to Romania).  JoAnn’s is a terrible place for an impulse shopper – there’s always something new to grab my attention.  I managed to make it past the Halloween decorations, the stamping aisle, and the  embroidery machines on the way to the buttons.  Found what I needed and planned a hasty exit — until I turned and saw the endcap with a variety of petite organizers (I’m sure  it was the lime green that got my attention).  Walked all the way to the front of the store before deciding I actually had the perfect job for this little tote.  I’ve been using a small oak box to hold my supplies, but — as you can probably guess — my supplies have  expanded beyond the confines of the box.  Now I can move my supplies around with me without dropping half en route to another room.   And it should help keep Kira from pushing each item to the edge of the table and doing the one-eyed-watch as it drops to the floor.  She might still pilfer my supplies, but at least I’m making it more of a challenge.

Yarn Crawl prize

Finally, it was time for the most important stop of the day:  The Knitting Nest.  Since I want to try a new hat, I needed DPNs in two more sizes.   I also received an e-mail stating I’d won a yarn crawl drawing and needed  to pick up my prize.   Wow – what a fantastic prize!  I was quite shocked to see a large lime green Nantucket Diddy Bagg filled with patterns and yarn.  I’ve been considering purchasing one of these bags because they’re just so darn cool (and come in lime green).  The bag itself will keep entertained for hours … zip / pockets on the inside … zip / pockets on the outside.  The yarn from Brown  Sheep Company (in Nebraska!) is a blend of 80% cotton / 20% wool.  I’ve looked at the company’s website before and it’s so nice to finally touch some of their product (it’s super soft!).  The pattern booklets from Ella Rae are gorgeous – the baby blankets and the sweaters are practical and include a lot of full-color photographs.  Big thanks to all of the companies who donated prizes.  Still shocked that I won anything (I have a perfect record for never winning the Texas Lottery), and I am absolutely delighted to be the recipient of such lovely gifts.


Hats with embellishments

Following my whirlwind tour of the big city, the rest of the weekend has been low-key.  Survived a tough-to-watch game between my beloved Huskers and my alma mater Longhorns.  Finished my 5th hat, wove in all the ends, and sewed on buttons and embellishments.  Wound 2 balls of Cascade 220 in Pumpkin Spice Heather (number 2453), a aptly-named color with reds and golds, for a new project I’m contemplating.  Wound a ball of Cascade Alpaca Lace in Red Wine Heather  (number 1415) for the Swallowtail shawl.  Started a 6th hat – which  I may just finish tonight.  The only downside to the weekend is that it’s just not long enough to do the grown-up chores and still accomplish all the crafty things I want to do.  Perhaps next weekend.

