There is absolutely no way I’m going to write a novel this month (it’s NaNoWriMo – National Novel Writing Month).  Even if I a) had the energy to write 2,000 words a day and b) had an idea about which to write, I am absolutely convinced it would be the dullest novel ever written.  I fear that it would rank up there with the textbook for my Academic Library Administration class — it put me to sleep every single time I attempted to do the assigned reading — and no one should be to be subjected to voluminous dull prose.

That said, perhaps I can manage National Blog Posting Month (NaBloPoMo).  I’m not dedicated enough to commit myself to posting a blog a day, but perhaps I can manage a blog a week.  Frankly, if I can write 2 blogs before Christmas I think I’ll tie a personal best. In any case, even if I write something boring and awful, each post will be relatively short.

Knitting is the best way to pass the time before a book signing!

I’ll start by admitting that I had a little bit of fun in October.  Perhaps fun is a bit strong – but at least I got out and about and wasn’t miserable.  I began with a brief “I deserve it!” delusion and decided to celebrate my promotion by scheduling a facial.  Two hours of pampering was wonderful – by the end of the day I convinced myself that I should indulge in a spa treatment every few months.  My blissfully relaxed state must have lasted a few days because I also decided to brave the crowds and attend a book signing later that weekend.  I arrived two hours early, met some very nice knitters, saw some friends, and didn’t break out in a cold sweat when the bookstore finally acknowledged the need to hand out wristbands.  The reading itself was delightful and I’m really glad I made the effort to attend.

October was a good month overall, and I’m a bit sad to see it go.  However, since November is usually my favorite month of the year I’m sure I’ll adjust to the idea of Christmas being just around the corner.  With any luck we’ll get a few more cold fronts to convince us it really is fall.

What’s in store for me this November?  Well, I think a little reality might be a good start.  After taking part in the ritual first-of-the-month-bill-paying-extravagana, I’ve reconciled myself to the fact that additional spa days are not in my future and splurging on an Amazon order wasn’t necessarily in my best interest.  It’s just as well – an empty checkbook means sitting at home – and I need to sit home for at least the next three weeks as there is much Christmas knitting to be done.  On that note, I shall set aside the keyboard and pick up the needles….

