So far, I’ve spent most of this year working on gifts.  While I’m making good progress on my Christmas knitting, I’m becoming motivated to make something for myself.  A few weekends ago I met some friends at The Knitting Nest and talked about wanting to make a Color Affection shawl … and shop-owner Stacy thought it would be a good project for a KAL (knit-a-long).  She developed a plan and recommended Pagewood Farm yarns – all of which are gorgeous.

The yarn sample ring from Pagewood Farm arrived this week, and a friend and I made a trip to TKN to check out the selection.  Oh my.  I wish I would have taken a photo of the entire yarn ring … so many tassels of yarn tied onto what must be a 14″ brass ring … it was an incredibly fun opportunity to look at the yarn up close and test out color combinations.

It took a while to narrow down the color choices, but I finally went with a colors very similar to what I originally put together in my head a few weekends ago while knitting in view of the store’s yarn selection.  The yarn colors I chose are navy, grasshopper, and plum.  A bit of a bold color choice for me, but I think I’ll get a lot of wear out of the finished shawl.  Can’t wait to see how the yarns work up together.

I’m really looking forward to the Summer Olympics KAL.  If you’re in the Austin area, come join the fun!

Navy, grasshopper, plum

